You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

How to fix horrible UI fonts?

See the attached image - fonts aren't antialiazed at all, and this bug is in Affinity Designer only - other programs' UIs have smooth and nice fonts.

Windows 7 PRO SP1

processor i7-4790

video GT 630

memory 8GB 

1TB HDD

I've installed the update for windows that affinity asked for, and enabled aero (hate it, but oh well).

post-32660-0-26008900-1467479683_thumb.png

Not Ophie, but I do have AD running under Windows 10 Pro and I also see the font problem.

I should add that I have not experienced any of the other problems with installing or running the program that are clearly affecting at least a substantial minority of users of the beta.  I am not an expert in graphic design so have not needed to test many of the more complex features. 

Computer Specs:

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

i7 6700k processor

32Gb Ram

AMI Radeon R7 360 graphics card

System Drive (C:\) is 250 Gb SSD (but see below for note on where AD is actually installed on my machine)

Because I have a partition on a 1Tb HDD dedicated to "Programs" (D:\), AD is installed in a folder on that drive, alongside all my other Serif programs.  From my experience, it seems to be perfectly possible to have AD (version 1.5.0.4) running successfully from a "non-standard" installation location.

Perhaps one other point is also relevant with reference to other problems experienced by some users; Windows 10 was a "clean" install (sort of!)  It is actually a brand new computer on which I first installed Win 7 Pro 64 bit (and nothing else - I had a spare installation disc) and then did the "free" upgrade to Win 10.

post-28542-0-57379000-1467484460_thumb.jpg

Win 10 Pro, i7 6700K, 32Gb RAM, NVidia GTX1660 Ti and Intel HD530 Graphics