Jump to content

logo


Windows Install FAQ

install

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 TonyB

TonyB

    Top Cat

  • Moderators
  • 1,476 posts
  • LocationNottingham, England

Posted 10 November 2016 - 08:57 AM

During the installation of the Affinity range on Windows, the following issues can be flagged. Please see below the descriptions and possible mitigations available.

  • How do I know if my PC is running a 64-bit or 32-bit Operating system

Affinity on Windows requires a 64-bit Operating System. Some PCs and laptops run 32-bit OS.

- Please see https://support.micr....com/help/13443 Which Windows operating system am I running?

  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 or higher not found

​Affinity requires Windows 7 Service pack 1 - this can be installed through Windows Update.

 

  • DirectX 11 not found

Affinity uses DirectX 11 acceleration to achieve smooth panning and zooming of the design canvas.

- Please see https://support.micr...t.com/kb/179113 for how to install DirectX 11.

 

  • Platform Update for Windows 7 not found

Affinity requires the platform update for Windows 7.

​​- Please see www.microsoft.com/download/details.aspx?id=36805

  • 64-bit CPU not found

​Your PC only has a 32-bit CPU. Unfortunately Affinity will not run on your PC unless it has a 64-bit CPU.

 

  • 64-bit Windows not found (but CPU is 64-bit)

​Your PC has a 64-bit CPU but you are currently running a 32-bit version of Windows. 

- Please install a 64-bit version of Windows.

  • Aero requirement to run the Software

​We require Desktop Windows Management Composition, rather than native Graphics drivers. This is natively on for Windows 8 and 10, but ​on Windows 7 this is most easily achieved by turning Aero ON. If you are not willing to turn the Aero theme on there is a work around described in this post​, but any issues when running the software won't be logged unless they've been verified as still occurring with DWM Composition enabled.

 

A more general FAQ regarding the Affinity range including Affinity Photo can be found here in the Questions forum.



#2 Twinkhughes

Twinkhughes

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 02:39 PM

Although I run Windows 10, 32bit and my computer is 64 bit capable I only have 4g ram and I'm not willing to upgrade to windows 10, 64bit. This is because of all the software upgrades I would have to do to make my software compatible.  



#3 cadsmarter

cadsmarter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 02:44 PM

I installed Affinity Photo this morning and was very eager to check it out hoping I can ditch Photoshop. Unfortunately Affinity is forcing me to change my Windows theme to Aero. I will not be doing this. Once this limitation is fixed  I will return and test out this product.



#4 Mark Ingram

Mark Ingram

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,561 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 02:48 PM

I installed Affinity Photo this morning and was very eager to check it out hoping I can ditch Photoshop. Unfortunately Affinity is forcing me to change my Windows theme to Aero. I will not be doing this. Once this limitation is fixed  I will return and test out this product.

 

If you don't have Desktop Window Manager Composition enabled (which happens when you enable Aero, or have Windows 8 or above) Windows will use a legacy graphics driver which can have severe performance penalties, and rendering errors. During the beta we aren't interested in bug reports from people who don't have DWM enabled, as those bugs are out of our hands. 



#5 Mark Ingram

Mark Ingram

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,561 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 02:49 PM

Although I run Windows 10, 32bit and my computer is 64 bit capable I only have 4g ram and I'm not willing to upgrade to windows 10, 64bit. This is because of all the software upgrades I would have to do to make my software compatible.  

 

Affinity Designer and Photo are currently only compatible with 64bit Windows.



#6 cadsmarter

cadsmarter

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 November 2016 - 03:04 PM

Ok I won't bother on this issue any further. Good luck with your release. Hope it is as successful under Windows as it was for Mac. 

 

Cheers!



#7 Alfred

Alfred

    Advɐncəd Məmbər

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,540 posts
  • LocationScotland

Posted 12 November 2016 - 09:24 AM

Although I run Windows 10, 32bit and my computer is 64 bit capable I only have 4g ram and I'm not willing to upgrade to windows 10, 64bit. This is because of all the software upgrades I would have to do to make my software compatible.  

 

All of my 32-bit software ran OK on 64-bit Windows 7 and 64-bit Windows 8.1, and it runs fine on this 64-bit Windows 10 laptop (which, by the way, has only 4GB of RAM).


  • ushere likes this

Alfred online2long.gif

Affinity Designer (release build 1.5.2.58) • Affinity Photo (release build 1.5.1.54) Windows 10 Home • 4th gen Core i3 CPU

 


#8 Patrick Connor

Patrick Connor

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 993 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 12 November 2016 - 11:04 AM

Hardware drivers is much more of a consideration than upgrading software, but I think that updating your OS is a big undertaking either way
Patrick Connor
Serif (Europe) Ltd.

#9 sonnyjrob

sonnyjrob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 November 2016 - 04:21 PM

While attempting to insall the beta, the installer hangs on "Computing Space Requirements" and never moves past that dialog.

 

OS:  Windows 10 Enterprise

System Type: 64bit

Installed Memory: 16GB

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • AffinityInstaller-Hung.png


#10 emmrecs01

emmrecs01

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 123 posts
  • LocationLincolnshire, UK

Posted 15 November 2016 - 08:10 PM

While attempting to insall the beta, the installer hangs on "Computing Space Requirements" and never moves past that dialog.

 

OS:  Windows 10 Enterprise

System Type: 64bit

Installed Memory: 16GB

How much hard drive space do you have (that is the one important detail you haven't given!)?


Win 10 Pro, i7 6700K, 32Gb RAM, AMD Radeon R7 360 and Intel HD530 Graphics

 

Long-time user of Serif products, chiefly PagePlus and PhotoPlus, but also WebPlus, CraftArtistProfessional and DrawPlus.  Delighted to be using Affinity Designer and Photo; looking forward to Affinity Publisher.


#11 artofmtl

artofmtl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 04 December 2016 - 09:43 PM

Hi, after you install the software is there a temporary folder use by the application for the images that you are working on? Is it possible to move it out of the OS disk because I am using an SSD drive and I would like not to read and write all the time on the SSD drive. Is it possible to configure that option? Thank you

#12 PaulAffinity

PaulAffinity

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 189 posts
  • LocationMerseyside, UK

Posted 05 December 2016 - 10:17 PM

Hi Artofmtl
if you have loaded Affinity on the SSD (as I have too), you can locate the images on any HD. I located mine on a separate mechanical drive (MD) of 640Gb. When you use Open in Affinity navigate to and find the mechanical drive and file (within a folder as appropriate) you want to open and edit. When you use Open again it will default to open files on the MD.
Cheers P
  • artofmtl likes this

#13 artofmtl

artofmtl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts

Posted 05 December 2016 - 11:01 PM

Hi Artofmtl
if you have loaded Affinity on the SSD (as I have too), you can locate the images on any HD. I located mine on a separate mechanical drive (MD) of 640Gb. When you use Open in Affinity navigate to and find the mechanical drive and file (within a folder as appropriate) you want to open and edit. When you use Open again it will default to open files on the MD.
Cheers P

Thank you PaulAffinity
  • PaulAffinity likes this





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: install

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users