Jump to content

logo


Affinity Photo 1.5.1 Crashes


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 kukur

kukur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 10:22 AM

Hello All,

 

I recently purchased the 1.5.1 version of Affinity photo and installed it on my current iMac. This machine is running 10.8.5, 2.5GHz i5 with 4GB mem. These appear to be within the specs of the software but I am having issues with the software.

 

When I try to open a .CR2 file from my Canon 6D, the software crashes. I can open a single .jpg (after conversion in another software) but when I try to do HDR or something with multiple images, the software crashes.

 

Looking for some help to curb the crashing. Looking forward to moving on from Photoshop and supporting a great product in Affinity.

 

L

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 2.11.16 AM.png


#2 Chris B

Chris B

    QA

  • Moderators
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 10 January 2017 - 11:06 AM

Hey kukur, welcome to the Affinity Forums :)

I've tried with a few sample files from a Canon 6D and they seem to be okay. Can you send me an offending image so I can look into this further? Thanks!



#3 kukur

kukur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 08:50 PM

Here is one I just tried opening and it crashed upon load. I thought it may be the OS/Raw compatibility (10.8 and Canon 6D), but that would not explain why multiple tiff/jpgs won't open. I have been putting off upgrading until I could find a replacement to my Aperture workflow (hint, hint), but I may just have to make the move and cope.

 

I may try uninstalling the software as well. Seems odd it would have issues on a fresh install (no upgrades).

 

The RAW file is too big to upload (23mb). So I have uploaded it to my server.

 

http://kukur.com/AffinityTest.CR2

 

L



#4 Franklin

Franklin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 11:49 PM

It may not solve the problem but adding ram wouldn't hurt, especially when working with large files. I can open the file on my i3 processor iMac running Yosemite OS (10.10), no problems. I also have 14 gigs of ram.



#5 Chris B

Chris B

    QA

  • Moderators
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 11 January 2017 - 08:29 AM

I have no problem with it either  :unsure: Then again this late 2013 iMac has 8GB of RAM so that might be making the difference as Franklin has said. I'll see if I can get hold of a slightly lower spec machine to test it on. I would have suggested trying it on the recent beta but it has expired today by the looks of things. 



#6 kukur

kukur

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 January 2017 - 05:56 PM

Well, I upgraded to 10.12 and can open the files in Affinity Photo now. So it may be a combination of all things stated. Bummer part is now that I upgraded I lost access to Aperture. So I will begin to assess that problem.

 

Thanks for the help gentlemen. Looking forward to seeing what I can do now.

 

L



#7 Chris B

Chris B

    QA

  • Moderators
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 12 January 2017 - 08:11 AM

Hey kukur, thanks for letting me know. I'm sorry about Aperture. I am actually quite surprised upgrading your OS X had an impact on this... 



#8 anonymoustache

anonymoustache

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 January 2017 - 07:14 PM

Well, I upgraded to 10.12 and can open the files in Affinity Photo now. So it may be a combination of all things stated. Bummer part is now that I upgraded I lost access to Aperture. So I will begin to assess that problem.

Thanks for the help gentlemen. Looking forward to seeing what I can do now.

L


I'll lose access to Lightroom feature when I update to sierra so I decided to start using the free version of Capture 1. It said it's for Sony owners but I didn't have to provide any proof of my Sony camera.
I'm enjoying it so far. It's actually a lot faster as well
  • Chris B likes this

#9 RPV69

RPV69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 March 2017 - 10:37 AM

Hi guys. I have the same problem as the original poster.

 

I have Affinity Photo 1.5.1 on a late 2012 Mac mini with 4GB RAM and OSX Mountain Lion 10.8.5.

 

If I try to open a NEF file from my Nikon D7000 directly in AP, it crashes every time.

 

If however I open AP as an external editor via Lightroom 4, the TIF that is created opens and edits fine.

 

I need to keep running 10.8.5 for a few reasons so would appreciate a fix for this.

 

If you require further details, or a copy of the crash log file please let me know.

 

Thanks,

 

Richie



#10 Chris B

Chris B

    QA

  • Moderators
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 20 March 2017 - 11:44 AM

Hi Richie, welcome to the Affinity Forums.

The reason the file opens when selecting Affinity as the external editor is because it is converting the image to a TIF as you have said. I've tried a few D7000 samples from a website and they seem OK.

 

Can you upload an example here so I can take a look? You can try changing the RAW engine to Apple. Go to the Assistant at the top (looks like a tuxedo) and click Develop Assistant at the bottom and then change RAW Engine to Apple. 



#11 RPV69

RPV69

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 March 2017 - 12:05 PM

Hi Chris. Thanks for reply. Considering the original post from kukur, this feels like an issue specific to OSX 10.8.5. I'll find some sample raw files from other cameras and test with those to see what happens. I'll report back when I have results.

 

Most of the time I use AP as an external editor from Lightroom, but it would be nice to have the option to open the raw directly in AP.

 

Update: Forum topic 30973 suggests this issue may have been fixed in 1.5.2 beta 2. I'll try the latest beta and then report back.

 

Richie



#12 Chris B

Chris B

    QA

  • Moderators
  • 2,362 posts
  • LocationNottingham

Posted 20 March 2017 - 01:40 PM

 

 

Update: Forum topic 30973 suggests this issue may have been fixed in 1.5.2 beta 2. I'll try the latest beta and then report back.

 

 

That would be great, thanks :)






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users