You must now use your email address to sign in [click for more info] ×

Affinity Photo for iPad with ios 11 beta - File type not supported

I am new to AP and just tried to open a photo from icloud that was taken on 7+ using the ios11 beta my ipad pro 10.5 is also ios11.  I am getting the error message:

Failed to open file

/private/var/mobile/containers/data/application/XXXXXXXXXXXXXX/tmp//loading.HEIC

please point me to a thread or FAQ to resolve this.

post-62382-0-54382600-1497626918_thumb.jpg

• Staff

stueybaby,

Welcome to the Serif Affinity forumsn.

HEIC is a new Apple specific file image format introduced in the iOS 11 beta. We do not support this (one week old) file format in the release build. We may choose to support it by the time the OS 11 is public in October.

Patrick Connor
Serif Europe Ltd

"There is nothing noble in being superior to your fellow man. True nobility lies in being superior to your previous self."  W. L. Sheldon

• Staff

This should get fixed pretty soon - even if we do not implement HEIC.

It is trying to open the HEIC as a RAW file (which it is not), because it does not recognise the HEIC extension.

I'll change it so if the file is HEIC, we fall back to loading the full size JPEG version instead.

Hope this helps,

Andy.

This should get fixed pretty soon - even if we do not implement HEIC.

Even if we do not implement HEIC? That would be an awfully strange decision for a company that's gone all in on iOS with a brand new iPad version, and launched on macOS. To not support the native format on iOS cameras, not to mention the most popular camera in the world, would severely limit the utility of Affinity Photo on iOS, and macOS as well. Having just invested in Affinity photo for both macOS and iOS, I certainly hope that's not the decision the company makes.

• Staff

KBeat,

When I say "may support" I do not mean that we would choose not to be able to open HEIC files from the Photo album.